Castle Park house is built on the site of Frodsham Castle, which burnt down in 1654. In the late 18th century the first house on the site, Park Palace, was built by Robert Wainwright Ashley, a lawyer in the town. On his death the house was inherited by his eldest son, Major Daniel Ashley, but mortgaged to Philip Humberston of Chester. During this time it was leased to Caption Harry Heron.
In 2010 the park and grounds were revitalised using a combination of Heritage Lottery and Council funding. The wider park area now boasts stunning landscaped gardens, a Kemp formal garden plus a bowling green, tennis courts a children’s playground and multi-use games area, which together provide a destination that all the family can enjoy.
Following Local Government Reorganisation in 2009, Cheshire West and Chester Council became the Trustee after inheriting the site from one of the predecessor authorities, Vale Royal Borough Council.